Project Description

Watch Concert Here

Tuesday, November 16

Launching Time 
7:30 pm New York Time


As a tango broken by lies, snapped by the artificial human relationships, emotions and feelings prefabricated by society, that’s life in a brothel in Buenos Aires at the beginning of the twentieth century. BROKEN TANGO 2.0 springs from the purest and darkest soul of the city to eventually arrive at the latest forms of interpreting tango in the particular R.E.A Dance Company’s way. We didn’t want to get stuck to the original and traditional tango, but to show how that early twentieth-century dance has continued to live by transforming itself through the movement of the bodies that inherited its language adding new gestures over the last hundred years. Thus, throughout the show we could see the old (Gallo Ciego, Amurado), new (Escualo, Michelangelo 70) and original tangos (Contra-Bando, Duelo y Malambo). The music is performed by a sextet (2 violins, bandoneón, piano, guitar, bass) and two singer and guitarist who interact on stage helping to recreate an emotional atmosphere in which they engage the audience.

Please visit the YouTube Concert link and click the SET REMINDER button to make sure you don’t miss the concert. (You need to be logged into YouTube)


Ximena Carnevale
Mercedes Angel    
Esther Medina
Nuria Estebanez
Jupa Arias
Diego Arias
Nacho Fortes
Rodrigo Martinez
Norma  García 
Juan Arias / German Lazcano / Enrique Guerrero / Basilia Gatell /Eulalia Gatell


Lorenzo Triviño – Violín
Gabriela  Alejandra Loria – Voice
Luz Prado Codina – Violín
Nicolas Angel Leguizamon – Guitar
Mariano Gonzalez Birqui – Bandoneón
Juan Ramon Veredas Navarro– Piano
Juan Carlos Fernandez Baca – Doublebass
Ernesto Sanchez – Voice

Choreography, Idea & direction– Diego Arias y Jupa Arias
Arrangement & Musical Direction – Juan Baca
Live Music-Proyecto Tamgú
Technical Direction– Eladio Cano
Wordrobe – Norma García
Scenography– Juan Arias
Video Projections – Diego Arias y Jupa Arias
Production– REA DANZA